que sera sera

Post #54

I haven’t been posting for almost 6 days now and I feel like a failure in postaday2011 challenge but I still try hard to make up for the days I wasn’t able to post. So today, please be warned and patient that you’ll be seeing 6 posts (or even 7) for today alone, from me as I will still be using the tag #postaday2011. šŸ™‚

To start, the first make-up post is an answer to this prompt:

What occupation did you want as a child?

Given what you know now as an adult (or more of one than you were), would it have been a good choice for you?

I have considered a few profession that I wanted to be when I was a child. Choosing occupations before was merely influenced by the people I admired and was inspired of.

Now I am going to list it here. šŸ™‚

1. A Doctor

Modern Stethoscope

“I want to be a Doctor and cure the sick.” This has been the most common answer you hear from kids when asked with the question “What do you want to be when you grow up?”. I have wanted to be a doctor. To cure the sick. I even had a rag doll (which, by the way is still “alive” upto now) that I used to play “doctor-patient” with.

2. A Teacher.

be a teacher

It was in 3rd grade when I first met Ms. Milan, my English, and sometimes Math teacher. She was a good teacher. She became my favorite. I liked her and I loved her teaching style. She was not only good at teaching but also at dealing with kids of different personalities. I would always observe her during her class – the way she talked, her style in teaching, even the way she used her forefinger as a “stick” pointing at every word written on the blackboard. It was because of her that I was inspired to be a teacher, to the point that I was mimicking her when I get home from school. šŸ™‚

3. A Newscaster/Reporter

http://thmazing.com/thnews

image source: http://thmazing.com/thnews

I wanted to be a reporter/newscaster. I have always been admired with one of Philippines’ most respected news anchor, Mel Tiangco. I like the way she presents herself both as a serious news anchor, and a bubbly host. šŸ™‚ I like her, that during my childhood, when I get tired playing “teacher” or “doctor”, I would just find myself a spot on a couch, grab a newspaper, and pick an article/news entry to read aloud, like the way Mel Tiangco does. Believe me or not, there came a point where I really felt decided to become like her.

These are just a few of what I wanted to become, but I never became one.

I ended up a programmer – and whether I liked or didn’t like what I am now today, depends. šŸ™‚

_____________________________________________________________

DISCLAIMER: Pictures used above are NOT mine. Randomly searched through Google.com

Leave a comment