intercept

Malayo palang alam ko na. Yung left eye na yan, yung figure, the way you walk – alam ko na. Sigurado ako ikaw yun.

As we got nearer each other, I can’t stop looking at you while wondering if you can still remember me. 

Ito na. Yung moment na magtatapat na tayo (coming from different directions). My eyes fixed on you. Then you saw me.

Nagkatinginan tayo. Yung moment na hindi ko alam kung hihinto ako to mention your name.

We were close friends and inseparable 16 years ago. 

The biggest and the smallest, together.. sometimes with the tallest, too. My most memorable lines from you was when you were slightly scolding me the day after you were absent, “pag absent ako di ka na kakain.. pano pag wala ako di ka na kikilos?”

Pagtapat ko syo habang nagkatinginan tayo, walang huminto (guess you were trying to remember and asking yourself who is this staring at you). We still continued to walk in opposite directions. I hope you heard me when I whispered your name as you passed me by, “Andrea”. 

Maybe you’d be proud of me if I tell you I’ve changed in some way – I can now eat without company, and have gone to a place hundreds of kilometers on my own and back.

While I am now on my way home, I wonder what if I stopped. But what if you no longer remember. That 3-second eye-to-eye intercept made me wonder.

Leave a Reply

