My first solo trip in Caleruega

Last March 22, 2015, I got the courage to do a one-day out-of-town solo trip. It had always been in my bucket list to be able to go somewhere that far alone – without having to tag along Mama or having friends to depend on where to go, what to eat, and what to do.

I have always been scared to be alone in a new place. I never wanted to be sent abroad alone. I have always turned down all onshore assignments at work. Simply because, I can’t see myself going to the airport, riding an airplane, landing on a different country, alone. I really don’t like feeling solo in a world so big. It’s like I am an ant-small and the world is so so so big I wouldn’t know what to do.

One of my close friends at work advised me to try going on a solo trip even to any local destinations – like Cebu. However, Cebu is already too far and I don’t think I can. The only “far” place that I can think of, that I know I may be able to have courage to go to, was Tagaytay. So I then googled Tagaytay and looked for places or attractions where I can visit when I get there. Browsing from the search results, I found Caleruega.

Actually, Caleruega has always been mistaken to be located in Tagaytay, but upon learning from different blog sites, Caleruega is actually in Nasugbu, Batangas. Wow. Batangas. This scared but excited me. I have been to Tagaytay, and Batangas but with groups, but never alone. What really pushes me to pursue the trip to Caleruega were the pictures of the place scattered in the internet. I liked the flowers, and its surroundings. From the pictures I thought that I would really love to see Caleruega in person. I want to be able to take pictures of it myself.

It was a Sunday – March 22. At first, when I told my Mama that it will be only me going to Tagaytay (ooops. I didn’t tell her Batangas, but I think I told her when I got home), she got worried and asked me n times if I won’t be lost there. After so many convictions that I will not be lost, she finally approved. Yey.😉

The trip to Caleruega.

In my research on how to get there by commuting, I learned that there weren’t bus terminals going to Nasugbu in Cubao anymore. I asked one of my friends who that same day posted on Facebook that she was on board going to Batangas. She told me that there is still one terminal in Kamuning, QC – JAM Liner. From SM North, I took the footbridge to get to the other side of EDSA going South. I boarded a bus going South and got off JAM Liner in Kamuning. In JAM Liner terminal, I asked the Bus conductors which bus to take if I am going to Caleruega. I told them it’s in Nasugbu, Batangas. Unfortunately, the buses that pass in Nasugbu are in Pasay, Taft. One bus conductor was very kind enough to tell me that I can ride their bus but they won’t be able to drop me off the exact location which was the Evercrest (or Hill Crest) Golf course, and would have to take another ride if I went with them. I liked what he said when I was leaving the terminal, “Syempre gusto ko ng pasahero pero kung mapapalayo ka naman, dun ka na lang sa may Pasay.” (Ofcourse I wanted a passenger on board, but you better take those buses in Pasay). Instead of getting pissed that I got off to the wrong terminal, I just laughed silently at myself and just reminded myself of what I read in one blog, that a true wanderlust get lost sometimes. J So again, I boarded a second bus and took off Coastal Mall. There were buses going to places in South, and finally I got in the right bus. I told the young bus conductor n times to please drop me off Evercrest. I’m so scared and nervous to be lost again. Hehe!

Finally, Caleruega. Yey! Finally. And Safely. I was so happy I made it there. Beautiful, peaceful. Below are some of the pictures I took when I was there.🙂

DSCN1386

Caleruega: Closer to Nature, Closer to God. :)

Koi Fish Ponds.

Caleruega Chapel DSCN1432 - Copy

What I love most are the flowers around.🙂

Sto. Domingo de Guzman statue

Caleruega is a perfect place for those who want to escape from the noise and stress of work, and busy cities, and be with nature and God even for just a day.

To make it a meaningful trip for me, I brought out my own created small origami and left a butterfly in Caleruega. I just hope nobody would think that I was just littering.

I will definitely go back to Caleruega.. with or without company.😉

Caleruega Church

20 thoughts on “My first solo trip in Caleruega

  1. Hi, your blog is super nice. I can relate, but the difference is I have not yet tried going somewhere solo. But I really want to and you just help decide to push through this Caleruega Solo Trip🙂 Thanks much!

    1. Hi! It’s nice to know I helped a random solo traveler decide!🙂 You made my day. By the way, when you go to Caleruega, can you please get back to me and tell me how much you paid for the tricycle fare? Hehe!

  2. pwede coh po ba malaman kng paano ung route pabalik ng manila? im planning to have a solo trip on may,,, hehe di ko po alam kng paano pabalik,,,

  3. Hello Jokel, nung sa Coastal Mall ka sumakay, anong bus ang sinakyan mo? Anong mga name plates ung nakalagay? Thank you so much I hope you will have the time to read my comment. God bless..

    1. Hello Rose, nagtanong lang po ako sa mga conductor. Di ko na matandaan un nakalagay eh. Basta po pag sinabi nyo na pupunta kayong Caleruega alam na po nila kung ano un sasakyan nyo or san kayo bababa.🙂

  4. 50 pesos po tlga sinisingil ng mga tryke driver jan
    malayo po naman kasi tlga ung byahe at kung tutuusin mag isa ka lng na pasahero nya, luge pa nga sya eh?
    sana wag mo bigyan ng masamang image ung tryke driver ng evercrest dahil naghahanap buhay lang din po sila

  5. Hi! I’m planning to go to Caleruega alone. And just like you, I’m afraid to get lost. And with the expenses. May I just ask if madali lang bang pumunta and hindi nakakatkot if magisa ka? And how much yung bus fare otw to evercrest?

    1. hello Joy.. yup madali lang.. sa una nakakatakot pero pag nakarating ka na sa Evercrest, okay na.. bus fare from coastal to evercrest, if I can remember is 101 php lang ata basta less than 150..

  6. HI po! plan ko po na isurprise po gf na punta kami sa caleruega….tas taga pangasinan po ako, tapos di ko po kabisado manila…ask ko lang po san po kayo mismo sumakay papunta caleruega? at ano pong bus?

  7. How does it feels to go alone? Im a foreigner and a female, so i feel bit insecure about this. I plan to go to Tagaytay next week. Will look up the site later. What do i need to be concern of? Oh and the bus I could look up at Internet right?

    1. It was my first time to go on a day trip alone so I was a bit scared during the whole trip to and from Calereuga. You can do it, too!🙂 Just be alert, keep safe, and I suggest not to sleep on the bus during the trip so as not to go past your destination. Hehe! And yes, you may look up the internet for the buses.

  8. Hi pano po pblik?my tric.po ba palabas?been here na kase before but we have a cab and im planning to go back here alone na commute ,and im worried kung pano pabalik?

Leave a Reply

