Home » Random Thoughts » Best Compliment Received: People Developer

Best Compliment Received: People Developer

I was thinking of what to write tonight and thought of consulting google for any “blog prompts”. I stumbled upon this site and found the following question on its 100 questions to inspire self-discovery:

What’s the best compliment you’ve ever received?

The best compliment I have ever received so far has to be this:

20131012-001013.jpg

I am not a leader (at least that’s what I think) and everybody knows that I don’t want to be one. I have always been a leader’s right hand. I always prefer to follow and not lead. I never wanted to be a team lead. For one, I am afraid that I may not be able to lead a team effectively.

I have always doubted my capability to lead people even as a team lead’s right hand or sub-lead. I don’t speak a lot, which has always been a “minus point” for me because they say that to lead, I have to be outspoken. So I was really surprised and touched to receive an email containing the message above regarding my being a People Developer. I never knew who wrote it (from my previous company and project/team) but I am still so happy that I still keep at least that screen shot until now as that message reminds me that I can be someone I have always thought I can’t.

Leave a Reply

